No one wants to be pulled over by the police. If law enforcement officers stop you for a traffic infraction and discover that you were driving without auto insurance, then you’re in for a long conversation, though.
Driving without auto insurance is against the law in the state of Maryland. It could lead to some severe consequences if police catch you doing this. Police will most likely impound your vehicle. Law enforcement officers gain the right to search your car in its entirety once they do so.
Your insurance rates are likely to increase if there’s a lapse in your insurance coverage. Your driver’s license could be suspended or possibly revoked as well.
It’s a criminal offense to operate an automobile without car insurance here in Maryland. The incarceration period for those convicted of this crime is up to two years. Defendants may be assessed as $2,000 in fines and administrative and assessment fees if convicted of such an offense. Government officials may also take away both your license plate and registration. You may have to pay a $25 restoration fee to get it back.
Penalties associated with the first violation of this law include up to $1,000 in fines, a potential year-long prison term, and a five-point deduction on your driver’s license. Subsequent offenses could result in more than $2,000 in fines, up to two years in lockup and an additional five-point deduction on your license.
If you’re facing driving without insurance charges here in Maryland, then you may be facing some serious legal issues that could negatively impact you for the rest of your life. Not just any criminal defense attorney will do when prosecutors allege that you’ve violated the state’s driving laws. You need to seek out the representation of a lawyer that has experience handling motor vehicle violations cases like yours if you’re hoping to achieve the best results in your legal matter.