Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., P.A.

Call For A Free Consultation

SE HABLA ESPANOL

Clinton: 301-856-3030

Dunkirk: 301-855-3100

Clinton: 301-856-3030

Dunkirk: 301-855-3100

Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., P.A. is here for you during this difficult time by continuing to remain open and fully functioning. Whether you’re having a personal injury, workers comp, family law, protective order, criminal law or traffic defense related issue, our attorneys are available by appointment, phone or video consultations to meet your needs. To schedule a consultation, please call our office at 301-856-3030 or contact us through our website and we will respond promptly.

Serving Our
Community Since 1967

It is critical to find a lawyer you can trust. One of Maryland's best-known attorneys and public servants, Mike
Miller has been active in Prince George's County and nearby communities for more than 50 years.

Penalties issued for failing to take a breath test in Maryland

On Behalf of | Dec 21, 2017 | Drunk Driving |

If you have ever been stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence in Maryland, you likely know that it’s best to submit to a breath test. Failure to submit to a breath test can make matters much worse for your situation. Today, we will discuss the penalties issued for failing to take a breath test in Maryland.

The law of implied consent in Maryland says that if you are ever pulled over driving while intoxicated, and the officer had probable cause for the traffic stop, you then consent submit to a blood, breath or urine test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). This test, whichever is administered, must be done so soon after the last time you were driving so that you do not sober up first.

If probable cause is established that you have been driving while intoxicated, the officer can detain you. If you still decide to refuse to take the test, you will face the following penalties:

  • First offense results in driver’s license suspension of no more than 120 days
  • Second offense results in driver’s license suspension of no more than one year
  • Third offense results in driver’s license suspension of no more than one year

It is up to the officer who initiated the traffic stop to warn you of the penalties for refusing to take such a test. He or she also does not have to arrest you in order to request that you take the test to determine your BAC.

Have you been charged with DUI in Clinton? An experienced drunk driving attorney can help you begin the defense of those charges.

Archives

FindLaw Network
Attorney Image