Have you been slapped with charges saying you are a repeat DUI offender? If so, you might want to pay attention. In Maryland, law enforcement can indeed charge you as a repeat offender, but only if your case meets certain criteria. If it has, then you might wonder what you can expect in the way of penalties. Here is what you need to know about repeat offender violations in the state of Maryland.
You will be charged as a repeat DUI offender if you have been arrested and convicted of driving while intoxicated more than one time in a period of five years. Receiving more than one DUI conviction in this five-year period means you will be subject to more severe penalties such as longer jail times and greater fines.
For example, a second DUI offense in Maryland typically results in a $2,000 fine and up to two years in jail, while a first offense usually involves only a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail.
Repeat violations also mean loss of driving privileges for an extended period of time followed by the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. This means you will not be able to operate your vehicle if you are under the influence of alcohol. In addition to being unable to operate your car while intoxicated, the out-of-pocket fees associated with the use of an ignition interlock device can be expensive. You will also have to pay fees to receive a restricted license and to have your driver’s license corrected once the restrictions have expired.
Repeat violations can seriously affect your everyday activities as well as your reputation. Rather than risk these byproducts of DUI on your own, it is best to seek help from a drunk driving defense attorney who can present a strong defense on your behalf.
Source: Maryland Department of Transportation, “Repeat Offender Violations,” accessed April. 08, 2015